Broiled Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus

I do not like bacon, but I will eat prosciutto for days. Maybe it’s the Italian in me. I stay away from processed meats most of the time because they usually contain ingredients that aren’t meat or spices, and they’re pretty high in salt. But sometimes, I’ll think up a recipe that includes prosciutto, but isn’t entirely made of salt and fat.

IMG_8080

These prosciutto wrapped asparagus spears are the perfect balance of vegetable and indulgence. They work as a side dish, or as an addition to breakfast. (I’m all about spicing up my favorite meal of the day.) Since processed meats are so, well, processed, I stick to brands that I trust. When I can’t get Applegate (organic, grass-fed, cage-free, you name it), I opt for Boar’s Head just because I know it’s a good quality meat compared to other brands.

Broiled Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus
IMG_8081Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 10 min
Total time: 20 min
Serving size: 4-5 spears

Ingredients:
15-20 spears
5 oz prosciutto di parma
1 tbsp olive oil
Pepper

1. Set the oven or toaster oven to broil.
2. Cut the bottom 1/3 off the asparagus. This part is tough and won’t cook well.
3. Cut the prosciutto slices in half.
4. Wrap half the spears in prosciutto, and leave the other half plain.
5. On a baking sheet or a grilling tray, line up the asparagus and drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle with pepper.
6. Pop in the broiler for ten minutes.

Leave a Reply

